Blog Tour Review: Rum Runner by Tricia Leedom with Giveaway

Posted July 3, 2017 by Minx

Blog Tour Review: Rum Runner by Tricia Leedom with Giveaway

This review is based on a complimentary book I received from Xpresso Book Tours. It is an honest and voluntary review. The complimentary receipt of it in no way affected my review or rating.

Blog Tour Review: Rum Runner by Tricia Leedom with Giveaway Rum Runner by Tricia Leedom
Series: The Key West Escape Series #1
Genres: Action, Adventure, Romance
Release Date: July 18, 2017
Publisher: Ink Monster LLC
Format: ARC, E-book
Source: Xpresso Book Tours
Pages: 270
ASIN: B06WJ56VX2
Purchase at: Amazon Barnes & Noble Google Play Kobo iBooks
Minx's Rating:
Heat Factor:three-flames

Perfect for fans of Susan Elizabeth Phillips and Janet Evanovich, this action-packed debut from a fresh voice in contemporary romance offers a sexy and comedic take on love, adventure, and what it means to trust your heart.

English socialite Sophie Davies-Stone has been longing to meet her father since she was a little girl. When he sends her a mysterious medallion and asks her to forward it to him in Miami, she can’t help herself from doing something totally un-Sophie-like. Rather than mailing it as instructed, Sophie hops on a flight to Florida.

But the family reunion never happens. Instead, Sophie is attacked and almost kidnapped by her father’s enemies. Her savior is Jimmy Panama, a cocky and annoyingly handsome former Navy SEAL. Sophie isn’t the only one who’s annoyed. After years of trying to find a way to pay back his CO, Jimmy never thought his debt would get him mixed up with his commander’s uptight, British daughter. He just wants to put her on the next flight home and get back to his low-stress life in Key West, but fate has other plans.

As Sophie and Jimmy embark on a heart-pounding adventure through Key West and the Caribbean, Sophie finds herself falling for the snarky American. Still, her head says Jimmy is all wrong for her, and the more she finds out about him – and her father – the more uncertain she is about who she can trust.

One thing is clear. Sophie is in way over her head, and her greatest adventure might be her last.

The Key West Escape Series#1 Rum Runner – Releases July 18, 2017! #2 Bahama Mama – Coming January 2018!

Goodreads

***Check out the Blog Tour Schedule and follow along with the tour.***


Review:

Sophie Davies-Stone has been a proper Englishwoman since her late childhood. She has been raised by her mother and step-father as a member of the aristocracy virtually in the lap of luxury. She had all the advantages and opportunities that money could offer but she also has a secret desire that she spoke of to no one. She wished with all her might that she could just meet her father, Mitch Thompson.

Having never known her father outside of an occasional letter, Sophie has been desperate to just talk to him. In her possession was a medallion that her father had asked her to keep safe. When he sent her a letter with instructions of where to deliver the item she took it as her opportunity to meet him in person. This was a reckless choice and Sophie had never been reckless but she just felt that there was something missing in her life and she wanted to feel whole. With these thoughts in mind Sophie boarded a plane heading to Miami.

Jimmy Panama is a retired Navy Seal who has been carrying around a guilty conscience for over a decade. He has become what most consider a low life and that is the way he wants it. He does not want to make any promises to anyone because he has failed to keep one before and does not want to fail again. When his friend Mitch cashes in on a favor owed, Jimmy is more than happy to pay him back. Simple, pick up a package that was delivered to a hotel in Miami. Much to Jimmy’s surprise was that the package was Sophie herself.

Neither Sophie or Jimmy were impressed with the outcome of the package exchange. Jimmy didn’t want the complication and Sophie had counted on her father to be the one picking up the medallion. Since Sophie had the medallion with her Jimmy figured he’s get it from her and that would be that. Sophie on the other hand had some so far and waited a lifetime for the chance to meet her father and was not giving up easily. The way she saw it, Jimmy was the closest she had gotten to meeting her father and she was not going to give up her medallion to anyone but her father.

They were at an impasse and had gone separate ways until Mitch contacted Jimmy and after finding out about Sophie being there, implored Jimmy to get her on a plane back to England to keep her safe. Apparently, there were other criminal parties interested in something Mitch had taken and would use anything against Mitch, especially his daughter. Jimmy was not thrilled about this idea but when he found Sophie under attack he came to the rescue. From that point, it became a high-stakes game of keeping one step ahead of the other parties after Sophie.

There is plenty of action from the start of Rum Runner. I really enjoyed how well I got to know the characters and their back and forth dialogue. They just cracked me up. I enjoyed the character development of Sophie who went from a high-society lady to a woman who could stand on her own two feet. There was a slow building romance between these two characters but at points I felt that it was a bit forced. Like “okay already, they want each other” but once the romance igniting it was like a flame burning bright. Rum Runner was a fast paced read that races from Miami to various locations in the Caribbean. It will keep you entertained from start to finish and it is a book that I recommend to all!

*Thank you to Xpresso Book Tours & Tricia Leedom for this eARC of Rum Runner*

 


About Tricia Leedom

Author Tricia Leedom

Tricia Leedom enjoys traveling to exotic destinations and having torrid love affairs with hot, dangerous men... even if it's only in her own mind. When she's not writing romantic adventure novels, she reads voraciously, tweets compulsively, and fangirls over a TV show based on her favorite book series. Tricia earned her BA in Creative Writing from The University of Tampa and her MFA in Writing Popular Fiction from Seton Hill University. Her favorite authors include Diana Gabaldon, J.R. Ward, Karen Robards, and Johanna Lindsey. She lives in Southwest Florida with two very spoiled dogs.


Enter to Win! This giveaway ends on July 31, 2017.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


2 responses to “Blog Tour Review: Rum Runner by Tricia Leedom with Giveaway

Comments?.....I would love to hear from you.....♥️