The Pursuit by Janet Evanovich and Lee Goldberg

Posted August 5, 2016 by Minx

The Pursuit by Janet Evanovich and Lee Goldberg The Pursuit by Janet Evanovich, Lee Goldberg
Series: Fox and O'Hare #5
Also in this series:The Scam
Also by this author: The Scam, Curious Minds, Dangerous Minds
Genres: Crime, Humor, Mystery
Release Date: June 21st 2016
Publisher: Bantam
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Pages: 320
ISBN: 0553392786
Purchase at: Amazon
Minx's Rating:

Janet Evanovich, author of the blockbuster Stephanie Plum novels, and Lee Goldberg, writer for the Monk television show, team up once again for the fifth book in their rollicking, New York Times bestselling Fox and O’Hare series!

Nicolas Fox, international con man, thief, and one of the top ten fugitives on the FBI’s most-wanted list, has been kidnapped from a beachfront retreat in Hawaii. What the kidnapper doesn’t know is that Nick Fox has been secretly working for the FBI. It isn’t long before Nick’s covert partner, Special Agent Kate O’Hare, is in hot pursuit of the crook who stole her con man.
The trail leads to Belgium, France, and Italy, and pits Nick and Kate against their deadliest adversary yet: Dragan Kovic, an ex–Serbian military officer. He’s plotting a crime that will net him billions . . . and cost thousands of American lives.
Nick and Kate have to mount the most daring, risky, and audacious con they’ve ever attempted to save a major U.S. city from a catastrophe of epic proportions. Luckily they have the help of an eccentric out-of-work actor, a bandit who does his best work in the sewers, and Kate’s dad, Jake. The pressure’s on for Nick and Kate to make this work—even if they have to lay their lives on the line.


This is another follow-up to a book that made my Terrific Tuesday’s postings. I received the book The Scam as an ARC when it was re-printed by a new publisher. Before then I will honestly say that I had never read a book from either Janet Evanovich or Lee Goldberg (but I had watched the Monk television series that he was a screenwriter on). I absolutely loved The Scam and that lead me to reading this series from the beginning. After reading all five books so far I can say that I love this series! It makes me laugh out loud and the scams and heists they run are just enjoyable. I can never get enough!

This story is different from the previous plots in the series because it is personal this time. Nick has been taken and is being used for the gain of a madman! Kate has to get him back at all costs. In addition to the usual cast some previously introduced characters from previous books were brought back into this scheme and given tidy endings. It was nicely done and now that I have read all the books I appreciated it. This story was full of twists and turns as usual, the comedy was spot on and the relationship between Kate and Nick has gone to a new level.

It has all the right action, suspense, and humor that a girl can ask for. What I was not happy about comes down to the editing. In every book all the main characters receive a small introduction for those who this book may be their first time reading this series but this time it felt like Kate’s dad Jake was introduced twice. Also, there was a portion towards the end where Kate’s name was in place of the female bad gal. This book felt for the first time that two different authors wrote it.

What a let down. I did enjoy the story and it is worth reading! I did rate the story four stars because I truly did enjoy the story. I left off one star because for me I missed some of the quirkiness and tongue-in-cheek that I was used to in the other stories so I felt it was a wee bit lacking.

About Janet Evanovich

Author Janet Evanovich

Janet Evanovich is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Stephanie Plum series, the Fox and O’Hare series with co-author Lee Goldberg, the Knight and Moon series, and the Lizzy and Diesel series as well as twelve romance novels, the Alexandra Barnaby novels, Troublemaker graphic novel, and How I Write: Secrets of a Bestselling Author.

About Lee Goldberg

Author Lee Goldberg

New York Times Bestselling author Lee Goldberg is a two-time Edgar Award and two-time Shamus Award nominee whose many TV writing and/or producing credits include “Martial Law,” “SeaQuest,” “Diagnosis Murder,””Hunter,” “Spenser: For Hire,” “Nero Wolfe,” “Missing.” “Monk” and “The Glades.” He’s also the author of the Fox & O’Hare series with Janet Evanovich (The Heist, The Chase, The Job), “The Walk,” “Watch Me Die,” “King City,” the “Dead Man” series, as well as the “Diagnosis Murder” and “Monk” series of original mystery novels.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “The Pursuit by Janet Evanovich and Lee Goldberg

    • Absolutely, on page #19 Jake is introduced as Kate’s dad, given some info about his military life, now he is living with her sister. On page 189 more information about Jake living with her sister and more about his place. When re-reading I can see that what I took as a re-introduction could be read as a re-introduction or as more information. When reading it, I felt that it was a re-introduction to the same facts.

      • I’ll have to politely disagree with you here. The material on page 189 is not an editing error at all but entirely intentional. We are providing more information that the two lines we gave on page 19…especially since we are now introducing Kate’s family, too, for the scene that follows. Readers of previous books will know this stuff… but not a new reader coming into the series for the first time with this book.

Comments?.....I would love to hear from you.....♥️