Vampire Girl by Karpov Kinrade

Posted June 1, 2016 by Minx

Vampire Girl by Karpov Kinrade Vampire Girl by Karpov Kinrade
Series: Vampire Girl #1
Also by this author: The Rakam (The Shattered Islands, #1)
Genres: Fantasy, young adult
Release Date: April 5, 2016
Publisher: Daring Books
Format: E-book
Source: Purchased
Pages: 270
ISBN: 1939559421
ASIN: B01DSBQ7EU
Purchase at: Amazon
Minx's Rating:

From USA TODAY bestselling author, Karpov Kinrade, comes a new series that will suck you in and leave you wanting more. For fans of Twilight, A Shade of Vampire, and Outlander comes a fantasy romance with an original twist on an old tale.

***

You think it's safe to walk alone at night. It's not.

You think the only threat is other humans. It's not.

Monsters are real. Demons are real. Vampires are real.

And I'm about to become one of them.

My name is Arianna Spero. I was an ordinary girl, living an ordinary life, until my mother lapsed into a coma. Now, I am her only hope. She made a deal with the devil, and on my 18th birthday he came to collect. But there's a way to save her. There's something the princes of hell want more than my mother.

Me.

So I signed my soul away and promised to pick a prince to marry. I would take the blood oath, become one of them, and give them an heir. I would become a princess of hell, and my mother would live.

I expected fire and brimstone. I expected pain and misery. I didn't expect beauty. I didn't expect magic.

I didn't expect love.

But the princes are keeping secrets from me.

Secrets that could shatter everything.

Goodreads

This story was really hard for me to rate.

Arianna is a normal girl who recently dropped out of college to work at a diner so that she could help her mother pay the bills, although Ari’s mom is actually unaware of this fact. Hard times bring on hard decisions and even though Ari would love nothing more than to stay home on her eighteenth birthday, she has to go in to work because they need the money. During the course of her shift she meets a customer who seems to know more than he should and that makes Ari uncomfortable and tongued tied, it does not hurt anything that he is gorgeous. Not knowing what to make of this gorgeous stranger Ari moves on with her shift.

After coming home from work, Ari gets ready to meet up with her mother for breakfast only to find her mother in bed and, by all appearances, looks dead. Her mother has slipped into a coma with no medical explanation as to why. Reeling from the discovery of her mothers condition Arianna is confronted by the strange man she met in the diner and he drops a bombshell. Apparently he is a Prince of Hell and he has come to make Ari a deal in order to save her mother.

Turns out Arianna’s mother made a deal with the devil and I will say as a mom I completely understand why she did. The prince wants Ari to come back to Hell with him, choose between seven princes, and make an Heir. Simple right? Of course Ari wants to save her mother and she takes the deal.

Ari must spend one month with each Prince and then determine to whom she will wed, only then will her mother’s soul be returned to her body. I bet you are thinking, Hell, fire brimstone, torture….not in this version, it is actually quite interesting. There is a king in Hell, or I will say was, as he was murdered. Hell’s inhabitants are ruled over by the seven princes, each prince having a province that is unique to his particular curse.

Did I say curse? Yes, I did. In this story the King and his sons were cursed by the King’s brother and sent to this kingdom, known as Hell. The sons are cursed with the seven deadly sins and each Prince and his province are a personification of their particular sin. Very interesting and did I mention that all the inhabitants are a mix of Vampire demons, Fae, Shades, and human beings. Why humans? Why for food silly, I did say vampire demons.

The world building of this Hell is very interesting. I do like the characters that we meet. Especially Fen, the Prince of War, he is not what you would expect and I love it! More Fen please! The story ends with a cliffhanger that makes it obvious that you will need to read this series in order.

So I started out stating that this review was hard to rate. It’s the way the voice is written for me that is a turn off. When I read another work from this Author the writing style was appropriate for that story but for this story I felt that the inner monologue was very robotic at times and that took away from the overall feel for me. Also, there are times where Ari states something that is completely obvious and the male character at the time is like “how did you do that?” or “how did you know that?” like she was something special when really it was just common sense or logical. Really struck a nerve there. Overall interesting and I do want to read the next book because there was a cliffhanger and I just want to know what is going to happen.

About Karpov Kinrade

Author Karpov Kinrade

Karpov Kinrade is the pen name for the husband and wife writing duo of USA TODAY bestselling, award-winning authors Lux Kinrade and Dmytry Karpov.

Together, they write fantasy and science fiction.

Look for more from Karpov Kinrade in Vampire GirlThe Nightfall Chronicles, Shattered Islands and The Forbidden Trilogy.

They live with three little girls who think they’re ninja princesses with super powers and who are also showing a propensity for telling tall tales and using the written word to weave stories of wonder and magic.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Vampire Girl by Karpov Kinrade

Comments?.....I would love to hear from you.....♥️